Living on 700 bucks a month: a budgeting overshare.

March 24, 2009

On the 3rd of each month, I receive a check from the government for about 700 dollars; I live on Social Security Disability Benefits.  If you don’t like to read people’s over-shares, stop here.  But if you enjoy over-shares and budgeting tips, read on.

5 years ago, my depression and anxiety made working almost impossible.  The worst thing was that I could not sleep due to  anxiety.  I would go 4-6 days/nights without one minute of sleep.  I wish that I was making that up.  Trust.  I  tried every medication out there for my depression, anxiety, and insomnia.  Nothing was working.  So I finally  had to quit my job in Boston, and move back up to Vermont with my parents.  It was quite obvious to my parents that I needed some intensive treatment, so they admitted me to a long-term, intensive care psychiatric hospital in Western Mass.  I spent 3 months at The Austin Riggs Center, and while Riggs was an “open hospital,” (meaning that you could come and go–as long as you made it in by a certain time, and were present for your appointments) it was INTENSE.  Living with people who were struggling with the same issues as I, was,  both comforting and disturbing at the same time.   During the 3 months I spent at Riggs, I began the long a laborious process of applying for disability benefits so that when I left, I would have some sort of income until I could get back into the working world.  I had no idea that 5 years later, I would still be relying on disability benefits as my main source of income.  So, the following is how I budget my life on 700 dollars a month. As some of you may know, I am currently living with my parents, so I don’t have to pay rent, and all the bills that come with living on your own.  But the time between when I left Riggs and moved back up here, (about 3 and a half years) I lived on my own, and so most of these tips come from those 3 years, but I still use a lot of them today.

First off, I always put 10% of my monthly income in a savings account for emergencies and so that when it comes time for new clothes, a trip, or whatever comes up that is not expected, I have a small nest egg to withdraw from.

Next is I know my billing cycles. I keep a record of when each of my monthly bills comes in, so I am financially  prepared for it.  Mine looks something like this:

Rent–1st (when I was not living with the rents)

Cell Phone–17th

Credit Card–24th

Electric–14th (again, when I was not living with the rents)

and so on……

I also try to know as accurately as possible how much each bill will be.

For instance, in order to accurately predict how much my cell phone bill will be, I check how many minutes I use  almost daily, so that know exactly how much the bill will be when it arrives in the middle of the month.  I never go over how many minutes my plan allows for.  If I use up all my minutes before the next billing cycle, I turn my phone off and don’t use it, unless there is an emergency.

Keeping my credit card receipts is also helpful.  It’s a reminder of how much I am putting on my card, and a record of how much my bill will be.  I know that this can be done online, but for some reason, having the record in my hands helps keep me from overspending on my card.

After I  budget out my bills money,  I make a list of other monthly necessities, and prioritize them.  Everyone’s necessities are different, but here is what mine look  like:

Food–150/month (when not living with the rents)

Gas–200/month

Toiletries–50/month

Eyebrow wax–20/month

and so on…..

Prioritizing monthly necessities is really helpful–and each month is different.  Some of my necessities, I only have to buy every other month, or even just 4 times a year.  Whatever my necessities are, be it a haircut, or cat litter, prioritizing them allows for me to create a realistic budget.

Whatever is left over after bills and necessities, is my social money.  And if there is anything left over at the end of the month, it goes into the savings account–not to a new “whatever.” (OK, sometimes I cheat on that one)

I am very lucky to have the family support I have.  My parents let me move back in after a life-changing event left me with no place to live and continue my recovery. They are incredibly supportive of me, both emotionally and financially.  No, they do not pay my personal bills for me, nor do they hand out money to me if I want something, but they do put a good, solid roof over my head.   And they would go to the end of the earth to continue to help me recover.  I really hope to get back out on my own within the next 6 months, but I have found that whenever I put a time limit on myself, I crumble under the pressure.   These last few years have been bumpy, but they have certainly taught me how to budget!

15 Responses to “Living on 700 bucks a month: a budgeting overshare.”

  1. gherkinfiend said

    Excellent tips! And don’t forget that learning to live carefully on a budget and be resourceful are good skills in the real world when applying for jobs!

    I’m five years on disability too and believe me, if you can sort out the bureaucracy of the welfare system, you will super employable. It’s seriously hard work!

    xx

    • annathezombiekitteh said

      Thanks! 🙂 Yes, even though I am not currently employed, there is no doubt that some of what I have learned through this whole process can be translated into job skills in the future….

    • annathezombiekitteh said

      Thanks 🙂 Yes–the whole system of disability, and all that comes with it (healthcare, etc.) has definately taught me some life skills that I don’t think I would have learned otherwise, and no doubt that they can be translated into job skills in the future.

    • annathezombiekitteh said

      Thanks 🙂 Yes–figuring out the system of SS disability is super hard, and has definately taught me some life skills that I may have not learned otherwise, and you are so right that they will be very handy when it is time to find a job again.

  2. annathezombiekitteh said

    Thanks 🙂 Yes–figuring out the SS disability system, and all that comes with it (healthcare, etc.) is very difficult, and will most certainly come in handy when the day comes for me to start looking for work again.

  3. Sukie (in the graveyard) said

    your budget lists look exactly like mine! I have it at my desk, next to my computer, to help remind me that an electric bill has more priority than that pair of BC wedges.

    One of the best things I found to help me build a savings account was my bank’s automatic transfer feature that automatically pulls money (a total that I preset) out of my checking account and into my savings account. When I was getting a pay check at the end of each month, the automatic transfer would occur about a week later. I’ve used this system for 6 years with the amount starting at $50 a month and eventually I was able to increase the monthly amount to $200.

    Because of this system, I didn’t freak out HARD CORE when I was laid off -I just freaked out in the standard format. I even have enough to cover a high deductible with my new fancy personal health coverage.

    Saving 10% of your paycheck (or government check) could just about save your life. 🙂

  4. annathezombiekitteh said

    That’s a really good tip–having a pre-set amount automitically transfered! Thanks 🙂 I am glad that it saved you from a hard core freak-out, and allowed you to continue to have health coverage……even though it is a relatively simple thing to do, (even if one saves only 25 bucks a month) not enough people do it, especially those of us who live pay-check to pay-check–weather or not it comes from the government.

  5. annathezombiekitteh said

    Ohhhh, that’s a great tip–having a preset amount automatically transfered! Thanks 🙂
    I am glad that it allowed for you to continue to have health coverage–and kept you from completely freaking out 🙂

  6. DangerMouse said

    I think I might try Sukie’s deduction thing.

    I have a really hard time saving money because I don’t make much. (Yay, grad school.) BUT I’m also really bad at actually keeping track of my spending. Even my $308/year on toiletries, etc. on harpyness surprised me, and I was coming in at the bottom of the pack. I just didn’t know that was coming out to 30 bucks a month.

    I should be moving up in the financial world this summer, so I feel like I should start saving, and these tips would at least help me keep track of my spending if I had someone to be the enforcer on that. Do any of those money websites harass you if you don’t log in for a few days?

  7. annathezombiekitteh said

    Hmmm, I am not familiar with the money websites, so I can’t speak to those sites, cause I am not familiar with them…….but I tell ya, if you even put just 25 bucks a month in a savings account, it can really help. I am lucky right now, cause I have my parents to be my “enforcer,” although they will never tell me what to do with my money. But they will sit down with me and go over my budget, and make suggestions about what to cut out, and where I can save, etc…..I will do some research on those sites tomorrow, and let you know what I find out…..

  8. annathezombiekitteh said

    Sorry about repeating myself in the beggining of that last comment—I am having one of those days 🙂

  9. Sukie (in the graveyard) said

    DangerMouse:

    I use Mint.com to track financing also. It doesn’t harass too much, a email here and there for updates but otherwise, it just helps you SEE where you’re spending your money. I love the pie chart. And it’s totally and incredibly secure. It lets me know when my credit card bill is nearing its due date – that can be quite a nice reminder.

    (those options to save more money are not required, they are just suggestions)

    I’d recommend it.

  10. annathezombiekitteh said

    Thanks Sukie!!

  11. annathezombiekitteh said

    Thanks Sukie! I am assuming that this serivce is free?? If so, I just may try it as well!

  12. Blondegrlz said

    Word on the Mint.com, Sukie! I don’t have a budget because a) I simply cannot stick to one and b) Mr. BGZ doesn’t understand the concept and it’s impossible to keep receipts when your husband won’t bring them home. But when it’s the 14th of the month and Mint says “You’ve spent $176 on fast food” you know it’s time to break out the PB&J at home.

    Actually, we used Mint’s suggestions to find a 0% interest credit card last year which we transferred our balance to and then paid off.

Leave a comment